The Clarisse Sisters

Ashley Speville

Ashley SPEVILLE is a young but very talented bass player. At only 23, he has already achieved so much in Mauritius, following in the footsteps of the island’s legendary bass maestro: Linley MARTHE, now living and working in Paris.

Ashley started his music tuition and education at the “ATELIER MO’ZAR” in Port Louis, an NGO founded by Saxophone Player José THERESE, where he learnt his craft on the electric bass and double bass since 2011. He has also complemented his mastery of the bass with the Royal School of Music and taking lessons at the Conservatoire François Mitterrand in Quatre Bornes since 2010, taking private lessons with Denis SERRET, a prominent Bass player in Mauritius.

Ashley is a regular musician in some of the best 5 Star Hotel bands on the island, but also plays with several local artists. He has performed in Reunion Island with Reggae outfit “Ras Natty Baby”, and played in special events in Europe: the Alnwick International Music Festival (England) and the French Equivalent to the Commonwealth Games (7th “Jeux de la Francophonie” – 2013) in Nice (France).

Ashley has worked on the recording of several tracks from KALEIDOSCOPE!, including Guardians of Eden. As the youngest in the band, he has become our prodigal son…

 

<  Back to The Clarisse Sisters

The Clarisse Sisters

Ashley Speville

Ashley SPEVILLE est un jeune bassiste de grand talent. A seulement 23 ans il a déjà accompli énormément de choses à l’Ile Maurice, et suit la trace de son glorieux ainé, Linley MARTHE, qui vit et travaille à Paris et est désormais considéré comme une référence dans le monde du Jazz.

Ashley a étudié la musique à « l’ATELIER MO’ZAR » de Port Louis, une école de musique créée par le saxophoniste José THERESE, où depuis 2011 il a pu se perfectionner à la basse électrique et la contrebasse. Il a peaufiné sa formation en suivant les cours de la Royal School of Music et les « master class » du Conservatoire François Mitterrand à Quatre Bornes depuis 2010, prenant aussi des cours particuliers avec un bassiste mauricien de premier plan, Dennis SERRET.

Ashley est un musicien très présent dans les Grands Hotels de l’Ile, mais il joue aussi régulièrement avec différents groupes locaux, dont la formation de reggae « Ras Natty Baby ». Il a joué lors d’évènements de premier plan en Europe, comme l’Alnwick International Music Festival (Angleterre) et les 7ème Jeux de la Francophonie à Nice (France) en 2013.

Ashley a participé à l’enregistrement de plusieurs titres de l’album KALEIDOSCOPE !, dont Guardians of Eden. En tant que membre le plus jeune du groupe, il est devenu notre enfant prodigue…

 

<  Retour à The Clarisse Sisters