The Clarisse Sisters

News

Discover DEUTSCH DUKE aka Dennis DOWLUT…

We are proud to announce a new collaboration with Dennis DOWLUT, from Sydney.

As far as we are concerned, Dennis is one of the most iconic artists of Mauritian origin and his achievements since 1995 in Australia, the USA and beyond are tesimony to that.

His career starts in 2000 with the 2 piece band KAYLAN formed with his brother Darren. Their first album is a huge hit with 2 Singles in the Top 20 “down under”, including “Because of You”:

In 2001, the “Dowlut Brothers” move from the stage to the studio and share their time between writing their own material and production for others, including remixes for foreign artists. They change their name and become DISCO MONTEGO, releasing a new album, which is another success in Australia, especially with the Single “BEAUTIFUL” sung by Katie UNDERWOOD (below). In 2004 they will also release a remix for Mariah CAREY (Boy, I need you):

A new start in 2010, with Dennis choosing to start a new group with Jason HEERAH (drums and vocals) and Aaron MENDOZA (keys) inspired by 70ies sounds, Soul and Funk. ELECTRIC EMPIRE is born. Their first and only album (sadly) is a great success critically and commercialy speaking. It will make them tour Europe and perform in 2012 at the Royal Albert Hall in London. The single “Baby Your lovin” below captures the essence of EE and showcases their unique talent, which in our view positions them as one of the great acts to have emerged from Australia.

Unfortunately, the ELECTRIC EMPIRE adventure stops in 2014, since Dennis DOWLUT and Jason HEERAH are going in different directions. The latter will eventually choose to come and live in Mauritius when Dennis goes back to production and his studio in Sydney. He will establish DEUTSCH DUKE and will find success once more working on songs for several artists: SET MO, Kilter and MUTO. He also writes his own material, like this sleek track, “SO REAL”, on which he also sings:

An extraordinary career as musician, lyricist, composer, singer, arranger and producer. In short an accomplished artist that puts him in a league of its own, alongside Jean-Paul “BLUEY” MAUNICK (founder of INCOGNITO) in the Pantheon of the greats of Mauritian music.

This is the reason why we are so thrilled to confirm that our forthcoming album will include a song produced by DEUTSCH DUKE which we are writing together.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The Clarisse Sisters

Nouveautés

Découvrez DEUTSCH DUKE alias Dennis DOWLUT…

Nous sommes particulièrement fières d’annoncer notre collaboration avec Dennis DOWLUT, depuis Sydney.

Ce compatriote est, pour ce qui nous concerne, l’un des plus grands musiciens d’origine Mauricienne et son parcours depuis 1995 en Australie, aux Etats Unis et au-delà, en atteste.

Sa carrière décole en 2000 avec le duo KAYLAN, formé avec son frère Darren. Leur premier album est un carton avec 2 Singles dans le Top 20 « down under », dont ce titre « Because of You »:

En 2001, les « Dowlut Brothers » passent de la scène au studio et se partagent entre leur propres compositions et la production et les remix pour des artistes étrangers. Ils changent de nom et deviennent DISCO MONTEGO, sortant un album sous ce titre, un autre succès en Australie, notamment avec le Single « BEAUTIFUL » où l’on retrouve Katie UNDERWOOD (ci-dessous). Ils iront même en 2004 jusqu’à remixer un titre pour Mariah CAREY (Boy, I need you):

Nouveau virage en 2010, puisque Dennis s’entoure de son compatriote Jason HEERAH (batterie et choeurs/chants) pour former avec Aaron MENDOZA (claviers) un groupe au son Soul/Motown revisité du plus bel effet. Leur premier et seul album (malheureusement) sera un succès critique et commercial leur permettant de tourner en Europe et notamment de jouer en 2012 au Royal Albert Hall à Londres. Ce titre « Baby Your lovin' » capture l’essence d’EE et leur talent incomparable, qui les place à notre avis, dans les grands de la musique australienne.

Malheureusement, l’aventure ELECTRIC EMPIRE se termine fin 2014, puisque Dennis DOWLUT et Jason HEERAH prennent des chemins différents. Le second viendra vivre à Maurice tandis que Dennis retourne à la production et au studio à Sydney. Il forme DEUTSCH DUKE et connait un grand succès en produisant des tubes pour divers artistes: SET MO, Kilter and MUTO. Il compose aussi pour lui même avec notamment le superbe morçeau « SO REAL », sur lequel il chante.

Un parcours extraordinaire de musicien, auteur, compositeur, interprète, arrangeur et producteur. Bref un parcours d’artiste accompli qui le place auprès de Jean-Paul « BLUEY » MAUNICK (fondateur d’INCOGNITO) dans le Panthéon de la musique créée par la diaspora Mauricienne.

Voilà pourquoi nous sommes heureuses de confirmer que notre prochain album comportera un titre produit par DEUTSCH DUKE et donc écrit en commun.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *