The Clarisse Sisters

Dominique Clarisse

Nationality : mu

Dominique is the strong, generous and rocking third of the trio. With a soulful voice, she is the mature elder sister in the band. She will give you goose bumps….


tcs_trio_dominique

Backup Singer Career: 1983 to 2013

Dominique sings since childhood. Walking to school she was already between Annick and Veronique… And homework was low on the list of priorities. Way below studying The Andrews Sisters vocal harmonies, rehearsing « We are family » from Sister Sledge released in 1979 or the latest hits from The Pointer Sisters in the 80ies which were all a steady source of inspiration.

Dominique started her singing career in the hotel circuit in Mauritius, aged 18, and she soon became « the voice » in one of the most beautiful hotels. To such an extent that she became the main lead singer in this luxurious resort hotel, alongside other performers including Annick and Veronique. End 1991, when Andy Bell introduced himself to the three sisters, Dominique was a young mother, which made it impossible for her to leave Mauritius for several months. Incidentally, this enabled the twins to live their dream. But Dominique with her talent and stage presence would impress many more VIPs and singers on holidays in Mauritius.

Dominique à la cour de Suède

Dominique at the Royal Court of Sweden

 

From June 1995 to April 2006, Dominique and the hotel orchestra were the preferred guests of the Swedish Royal Family. Whether for the 50th or the 60th birthday celebration of the King, a wedding anniversary or a party honoring the Queen, Dominique was in Stockholm on a regular basis, at the Royal Palace. In May 2003, it was the reigning Royal Family in Dubaï who invited Dominique and the hotel orchestra for a private concert staged for the Sheikh Al Maktoum anniversary.

In 2007 and 2012, Dominique went to Baku, capital of Azerbaidjan, for other private concerts honoring the daughter of a local Minister, whom they met at the hotel and who was seduced by Mauritian voices.

Dominique avec Boy George

Dominique Clarisse with Boy George & Chris de Burgh

 

While Annick and Veronique were abroad, Dominique had the privilege of meeting famous French singers, during their holidays in Mauritius. This often led to impromptu concerts and « Jam Sessions » for the lucky tourists who could sample these free gigs. In 2004, Dominique sang with Johnny HALLIDAY, and then in 2007 with Hélène SEGARA.

In the same fashion the regular presence of Chris de Burgh in this hotel each summer since 1998 enabled Dominique to develop a regular collaboration with the Irish singer. First of all for private concerts in Mauritius, then for a special Millennium show, 31st January 1999, when Boy George (ex Culture Club) joined Dominique and Chris de Burgh on stage.

Dominique Clarisse & Chris de Burgh

Dominique Clarisse & Chris de Burgh

 

Finally, Dominique sang as backing vocalist for the « Lady in Red » Star when she was booked with the Hotel band for two memorable private concerts at the Byblos Hotel (St Tropez) in July 1999 and July 2000.

But the most notable musical encounter for Dominique happened for 2 weeks in February 2001: Whitney Houston was on holidays in Mauritius. After connecting and clicking with the hotel band on the first night, she decided to offer an impromptu concert to the residents, with Dominique as back-up singer. A dream come true…

In June 2013, a new adventure was started, with the official formation of THE CLARISSE SISTERS, and the start of writing the KALEIDOSCOPE! album. A new chapter, a white page, but Dominique is still at the centre of the trio, between her twin sisters, as if going to school singing…

 

<  Back to The Clarisse Sisters

The Clarisse Sisters

Dominique Clarisse

Nationalitému

Dominique est généreuse, forte et la voix chaude du trio. Avec sa tessiture soul, elle apporte de la maturité et de la maîtrise dans le groupe. Elle vous donnera des frissons…


tcs_trio_dominique

Carrière de choriste: 1983 à 2013

Dominique chante depuis l’enfance. En allant à l’école déjà elle était la grande sœur qui entrainait Annick et Véronique… Et les devoirs étaient loin d’être la préoccupation principale. Les harmonies vocales des Andrews Sisters, le « We are family » de Sister Sledge sorti en 1979 ou les derniers tubes des Pointer Sisters dans les années 80 étaient sources de beaucoup plus d’inspiration.

Dominique commença sa carrière de chanteuse dans le circuit hôtelier à Maurice, dès 18 ans, et elle s’imposa rapidement comme « la voix » d’un des plus beaux hôtels. A tel titre qu’elle devint la chanteuse attitrée de l’orchestre de cet établissement de très grand standing, au côté d’autres interprètes, dont Annick et Véronique. Fin 1991, quand Andy Bell se présenta aux trois sœurs, Dominique était jeune maman, ce qui lui ferma la porte à une absence de plusieurs mois loin de Maurice. Indirectement, ceci permit aux jumelles de vivre leur rêve. Mais Dominique par son talent et sa présence scénique put impressionner d’autres stars et VIP de passage à l’Ile Maurice.

Dominique à la cour de Suède

Dominique Clarisse à la cour de Suède

 

De Juin 1995 à Avril 2006, Dominique et l’orchestre de cet hôtel, furent les invités attitrés de la famille Royale Suédoise. Que ce soit pour les 50 ans ou les 60 ans du Roi, un anniversaire de mariage ou une fête en l’honneur de la Reine, Dominique était invitée à Stockholm régulièrement pour des concerts exceptionnels, au Palais Royal. En Mai 2003, ce fut au tour de la famille régnante de Dubaï d’inviter Dominique et l’orchestre pour un concert privé lors de l’anniversaire du Sheikh Al Maktoum.

En 2007 et 2012, Dominique partit pour Bakou, capitale de l’Azerbaïdjan, pour d’autres concerts privés en l’honneur de la fille d’un Ministre local, rencontré à l’hôtel et lui aussi séduit par les voix mauriciennes.

Dominique avec Boy George

Dominique Clarisse avec Boy George et Chris de Burgh

 

Pendant qu’Annick et Véronique étaient à l’étranger, Dominique eut le privilège de rencontrer des chanteurs français, lors de leurs vacances à Maurice. Ceci déboucha souvent sur des représentations d’un soir ou des « Jam Sessions » pour les vacanciers chanceux d’assister à ces concerts gratuits. En 2004, Dominique chanta avec Johnny HALLIDAY, puis en 2007 avec Hélène SEGARA. Dans le même esprit, la présence de Chris de Burgh dans cet hôtel chaque été depuis 1998 a permis à Dominique de développer une collaboration régulière avec le chanteur Irlandais.

D’abord pour des concerts privés à Maurice, puis pour la soirée du Millénium, le 31 Janvier 1999, où Boy George (ex Culture Club) rejoint Dominique et Chris de Burgh sur scène.

Dominique Clarisse & Chris de Burgh

Dominique Clarisse & Chris de Burgh

 

Dans la continuité à l’Hotel Byblos (Saint Tropez), Dominique fut choriste de l’interprète de « Lady in Red » pour deux soirs de concert mémorables en Juillet 1999 et Juillet 2000.

Mais la rencontre musicale la plus marquante pour Dominique eut lieu pendant 15 jours en Février 2001 : Whitney Houston était en vacances à l’Ile Maurice. Après avoir sympathisée avec l’orchestre de l’hôtel, elle décida de présenter son répertoire aux résidents de l’hotel pour un concert impromptu, accompagnée aux chœurs par Dominique. Un rêve devenu réalité…

En Juin 2013, une nouvelle étape a été entamée, avec la formation de THE CLARISSE SISTERS, et le début de l’écriture et des compositions de l’album KALEIDOSCOPE ! Une nouvelle page, une feuille blanche, mais Dominique est toujours au milieu du trio, entre ses sœurs jumelles, comme quand elles allaient à l’école en chantant…

 

<  Retour à The Clarisse Sisters